Jalen Smith, Anthony Cowan Jr. Highlight Maryland All-Big Ten Selections

ROSEMONT, Ill. (March 9, 2020) — First Team All-Big Ten selections Jalen Smith and Anthony Cowan Jr. highlighted a string of conference awards for the Maryland men’s basketball team, as announced March 9 by the Big Ten Conference.

In addition to Smith and Cowan, Aaron Wiggins was announced Maryland’s first-ever Big Ten Sixth Man of the Year, while Darryl Morsell earned Honorable Mention All-Big Ten from the media. Smith was also named to the All-Defensive Team.

Smith and Cowan are just the fifth Maryland duo in program history to earn First Team All-Conference honors, joining Melo Trimble and Dez Wells (2014-15), Lonny Baxter and Juan Dixon (1999-00), Steve Francis and Terence Morris (1998-99) and Len Elmore and John Lucas (1973-74).

Maryland has had a player on the Big Ten First Team four out of its six seasons in the conference.

Smith was voted First Team All-Big Ten by both the coaches and media. His defensive team nod marked the third straight season Maryland had a player on the team (Bruno Fernando, Cowan). Smith has totaled 21 double-doubles on the season, which ranks third nationally.

Cowan was voted First Team All-Big Ten by coaches and Second Team All-Big Ten by media. Cowan is the first three-time all-conference selection for the Terps since Melo Trimble (2014-17). Cowan’s 172 made free throws this season ranks eighth nationally, and he recently broke Maryland’s program record for career free throws made.

Maryland returns to action March 13 at approximately 9 p.m. in the quarterfinals of the Big Ten Tournament in Indianapolis. The Terps will play the winner of Penn State and Indiana/Nebraska.

— Maryland Athletics press release

Photo Credit: Kenya Allen/PressBox


For more from PressBox, read the latest news here.